

8 May 2021

#### MEDIA RELEASE

# **FINALISTS ANNOUNCED FOR 2021 WESTERN AUSTRALIAN OF THE YEAR AWARDS**

The much-awaited finalists for the 2021 Western Australian of the Year Awards have been announced today, celebrating thirty-seven outstanding Western Australians who have made an extraordinary impact in a range of fields over the past two years.

The Awards comprise seven categories, with the winner of each category set to be announced at a gala dinner on Friday, 4 June to kick off the WA Day long weekend. The overall winner will be selected from the category winners and awarded at the end of the evening. Finalists are listed in full on the following page.

The calibre of finalists has lifted even higher this year due to the cancellation of the Awards in 2020. Nominations from 2020 were carried over to 2021, ensuring that the current crop of finalists represent the pinnacle of achievements in Western Australia.

With the reinstatement of the Awards comes the return of the annual gala dinner, a highlight of the Perth social calendar. As in previous years the event will be held at Crown Ballroom and opened by the Honourable Mark McGowan MLA. Guests will enjoy stunning Western Australian food and wine, and a program of uniquely Western Australian entertainment with singers Steve Hensby, Lois Olney and Tara Tiba and the Perth Symphony orchestra set to delight guests.

Previous Western Australian of the Year Awards recipients include some of WA's most well-known and highly respected individuals, including James McMahon DSC DSM, Emeritus Professor Mike Daube AO, Andrew Forrest AO, Dr Robert Isaacs AM JP, Professor Fiona Stanley AC and Adam Gilchrist AM.

Celebrate WA Chairman Michael Anghie said after the forced hiatus of 2020, the announcement of the 2021 finalists allowed all Western Australians to recognise those who have done extraordinary work, and made outstanding contributions to our State.

"Selecting just thirty-seven finalists was especially difficult this year, given the extraordinary pool of nominees from the past two years. The depth and breadth of talent in Western Australia never ceases to amaze me, and I look forward to the finalists getting the recognition they so richly deserve for their work.



















Regardless of their chosen field, each finalist has made a truly meaningful difference, and a positive impact on the lives of others." Mr Anghie said.

The Western Australian of the Year Awards ceremony marks the beginning of the WA Day long weekend – a multi-day celebration of our State and everything that makes Western Australia an incredible place to call home.

Tickets to attend the gala dinner are available via www.waday.com.

#### 2021 Western Australian of the Year Awards finalists

- Aboriginal Award Sponsored by Wesfarmers
  - Jahna Cedar OAM
  - o Professor Juli Coffin
  - Doris Eaton
  - Karla Hart
  - Harvey Murray
- Arts and Culture Award Sponsored by Woodside Energy
  - Rachel Bin Salleh
  - Kylie Bracknell
  - Alec Coles OBE
  - o lain Grandage
  - o Julia Hales
  - Leon Pericles
- **Business Award** Sponsored by APM
  - Nathan Bennett
  - Hannah Mann
  - o Brodie McCulloch
  - Julian Pace
  - Julia Redwood
- Community Award Sponsored by Alcoa of Australia
  - Professor Chan Cheah
  - Ken Gibbons
  - Richard Goyder AO
  - Leigh Andrew Hill
  - o Dr Shannon Simpson
  - Suzy Urbaniak
- Professions Award Sponsored by HBF
  - Professor Jonathan Carapetis AM
  - Professor Michael Henderson
  - Dr Paola Magni
  - o Emeritus Professor Chemmangot Nayar
  - Emeritus Professor Cheryl Praeger AC
- Sport Award Sponsored by Channel 7
  - o Hannah Green
  - Grant Manzonev
  - Christina Matthews
  - Murray McHenry
  - Ben Popham





















- Youth Award Sponsored by BHP
  - Rhiannon Clarke
  - Sukhjit Kaur Khalsa
  - Dr Hayley Passmore
  - Yarlalu Thomas
  - Kendall Whyte

The WA Day celebrations and events are proudly supported by BHP, the Government of Western Australia and Lotterywest.

## **ENDS**

Biographies and photos of finalists are available, and finalists are available for interviews and photoshoots

### **Media contact**

Julia Watts Clarity Communications P: 0407 646 178

E: Julia.watts@claritycommunications.com.au

### **About Celebrate WA**

Celebrate WA is a not-for-profit organisation responsible for promoting and organising the annual WA Day celebrations; promoting excellence and achievement by Western Australians in all fields of endeavour; and encouraging pride in all things Western Australian.



















