

14 November 2019

### MEDIA RELEASE

# PUBLIC URGED TO NOMINATE EXTRAORDINARY WESTERN AUSTRALIANS

Western Australians are once again being encouraged to celebrate outstanding members of their community by nominating them for the 2020 Western Australian of the Year Awards.

The highly anticipated Awards celebrate inspirational role models in the Aboriginal community; excellence in business leadership, social entrepreneurship and innovation; making a positive difference to the vibrancy of our State through arts and culture; positive social, scientific and economic impact; achievement in sport; and improving the lives of Western Australians and the community as a whole.

Celebrate WA Chair, Michael Anghie, said he eagerly anticipated the 2020 high achievers who would set the tone for the next decade of exceptional Western Australians.

"As a State we are very modest about our achievements, but the truth is there are Western Australians out there doing incredible work in a variety of fields. The Awards are our chance to give these people the recognition they deserve, and to show the rest of Australia and the world about the calibre of talent here in WA," he said.

"If you know someone who truly excels in their field, I ask you to take a few minutes to nominate them for an Award."

James McMahon DSC DSM received the State's highest honour at least year's Awards, named overall 2019 Western Australian of the Year. The Awards recognised the truly remarkable contribution James has made to the State in many different areas, having served in the Australian Defence Force from 1985 to 2007, including serving as the Commander of the SAS. He now dedicates considerable time to supporting current serving personnel, returned service personal, and Defence families in need. He also served as the Commissioner for the Department of Corrective Services and has been involved in a variety of community initiatives, most notably The Fathering Project.

The other highly deserving winners from 2019 include Glen Kelly (Aboriginal), Bourby Webster (Arts & Culture), Dr Erica Smyth AC (Business), Dr Angus Turner (Professions), Samantha Kerr (Sport) and Harrison Garland (Youth).

The seven Western Australian of the Year Award categories are:

**Major Supporters** 









- Aboriginal Award sponsored by Wesfarmers
- Arts & Culture Award
- Business Award
- Community Award sponsored by Alcoa of Australia
- **Professions** Award
- **Sport** Award sponsored by Channel Seven
- Youth Award

Members of the public can nominate friends, family or colleagues, or self-nominate for the Awards, online at <a href="https://www.waday.com">www.waday.com</a>.

The simple, 5 minute nomination process requires people to select a category for their nominee, describe the nominee's achievements, and why they should win. Any person born in WA or who has made Western Australia their home is eligible for nomination.

Nominations are open until Friday, 28 February 2020.

Winners will be announced on Friday, 29 May 2020 at a gala dinner to mark the beginning of the WA Day long weekend, with the overall winner declared the 2020 Western Australian of the Year.

Any questions about the Awards or the nomination process may be directed to Celebrate WA on 08 9324 5000 or <a href="mailto:celebratewa@celebratewa.com.au">celebratewa@celebratewa.com.au</a>

#### **ENDS**

Photos of previous winners are available. 2019 Award winners and Celebrate WA Board members are available for interviews.

#### **Media contacts**

Anthony Hasluck

Clarity Communications

P: 0438 522 194

Julia Watts

Clarity Communications

P: 0407 646 178

## **About Celebrate WA**

Celebrate WA is a not-for-profit organisation responsible for promoting and organising the annual WA Day celebrations; promoting excellence and achievement by Western Australians in all fields of endeavour; and encouraging pride in all things Western Australian.

**Major Supporters** 





